The Symptoms of DSM 5 at NPAP

Dropped on:March 21, 2014
Add One
0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

The Program Committee National Psychological Association for Psychoanalysis of the

The Symptoms of DSM 5

Nancy McWilliams * Joshua W. Clegg * Julie L. Futrell
/Moderator: Evan Malater
Friday, March 28, 2014 * 7:00 – 9:00 pm
40 W 13 Street, New York City * Buzzer 216
NPAP Meeting Room

Going beyond the now familiar critiques of DSM and DSM 5, the panel will consider DSM and its significance as a cultural symptom. Its members will discuss the experience of the psychoanalytic clinician in relation to the manual in clinical practice while interrogating the clinical and philosophical implications of the culture of bureaucracy it seeks to impose.

NANCY McWILLIAMS teaches at Rutgers University’s Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology and practices in Flemington, N. J. Author of Psychoanalytic Diagnosis (1994; 2011), Psychoanalytic Case and associate editor of the Psychodynamic Diagnostic Manual (2006), she is a former President, Division 39 (Psychoanalysis) of the American Psychological Association.

JOSHUA W. CLEGG is Associate Professor of Psychology at John Jay College of Criminal Justice and a faculty member in the Critical Social and Personality Psychology at The Graduate Center, CUNY. His most recent book (2012) is the edited volume Self-Observation in the Social Sciences.

JULIE L. FUTRELL is completing her Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology from Duquesne. Her interests include Lacanian psychoanalysis, the ethics of contemporary psychological practice and feminine sexuality.   In addition to her clinical work at Nassau University Medical Center, she serves as adjunct faculty at Wilmington University.

This event is free and open to the NPAP community and to the general public.

Refreshments will be served.

NPAP Program Committee:

Jean Golden, Richard J. Karpe, S. Montana Katz, Jane Kupersmidt, Evan Malater,

Gavriel Reisner (MITO), Alan Roland, Catherine B. Silver, E. Hanna Turken,

Aleksandra Wagner (Chair), and Margaret Zellner.

0.00 avg. rating (0% score) - 0 votes

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.